How Did I Get Here?

“Man’s steps are from the Lord; how then, can a man understand his way?” — Proverbs 20:24

Beautiful Journey

The other day my daughter, Robin, asked me to write down a certain word in shorthand.  Though I know I am dating myself by revealing this, I am proud to say I still remember how to write in shorthand, a skill I learned in high school a few short decades ago.

Robin was working on an art project for a company logo.  She thought using the shorthand would be a creative way to go.  I don’t want to reveal the company name, however, it was an unusual word. I was pretty sure of how to write it, but it suddenly came to me I could check my accuracy because I still had my handy little, pocket-size Gregg Shorthand Dictionary packed away somewhere in my home. 

Surprisingly, I dug through only a couple of desk drawers before finding it.  Another surprise was having to dig through another drawer to find a magnifying glass in order to read the darn thing.  I do not recall having this problem back when I was in school regularly perusing the book. 

It’s funny how a simple request can get you thinking about your whole life.  I began adulthood preparing to be a legal secretary, and for a short time, that’s exactly what I was, until I felt a yearning for mothering.  Over the years while volunteering and serving my church and community, God seemed to illuminate new paths for me to follow.  As needs arose, I discovered I had gifts to offer.  Secretarial Science has become a distant memory – – – well, except for the shorthand, which has come in handy from time to time, especially during the years I was a newspaper correspondent. 

How often have we heard similar stories?   I’ve heard it from friends, relatives and even celebrities.  I once heard an actor say he was only keeping his friend company as she tried out for a part in a movie.  Suddenly, this guy was asked to read for a part and the next thing he knew, his name was up in lights!  Almost everyone, usually by the time they are middle-aged, will admit they are not doing what they started out doing after finishing school.

I would bet most of these shifts in careers happened because a need arose which had to be dealt with.  In my faith-sharing gatherings, it is often said, “God does not choose the qualified.  He qualifies the chosen.”  I believe when a “need” is put before you, God is saying, “You can do this” and it’s just too hard to say “no” to God.

"Make your plans, but do it in pencil."

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

