Gifts are for Sharing

“Give and gifts will be given to you; a good measure, packed together, shaken down and overflowing, will be poured into your lap.  For the measure with which you measure will in return be measured out to you.” — Luke 6:38

I love to write. I love to quilt.  I have been sewing since I was a child and I became a “quilter” in 1993.  I have been a writer for over 25 years.  For the last 18 years or so, I have been “torn” between these two great passions. I relish the opportunity to indulge in both simultaneously.

While working as a journalist for a local paper, my continuous quest for stories followed by the intense, daily writing took most of my time. It was all I could do to keep up with my family and my home. My stacks of colorful fabrics called to me, but I had to pass them by. My creative sewing juices were suppressed and my geometric dreams were ignored.

In recent years while I have been primarily teaching, designing, and creating quilts, the writing has taken a backseat. Again I feel the pull, but now it is the computer “calling” me. I jot notes with the hope of “getting around” to it later. I jump out of the shower with a new story in my mind only to be faced with a long list of “must do’s” while working on a quilt project.

My husband and daughters have convinced me that a Blog is the answer to my prayers.  To be able to write about quilts and the affects of quilts on people’s lives is a magical concept and a dream come true!  Is it really this easy?

In addition to quilting and writing, I love to give.  I began my Blog with scripture because the words from Luke – “give and gifts will be given to you” — ring so true with me.  I have lived this advice over and over again.  I have created quilts for coping and quilts for celebrating.  Each time I have given a quilt, I am rewarded by the inspiration of the human spirit.  The designing, creating and giving of a warm and comforting quilt is a whole story with a heaven-laced beginning and an awe-inspiring ending.  Most of the paragraphs inbetween are chock full of emotions including both laughter and tears, but always wrapped in prayer.  How is this possible, you may ask?  Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Quilter's Dreams. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Gifts are for Sharing

  1. Ted says:

    Love the new blog Dottie!

    Like

  2. Maria says:

    Great job! I will add you to my bookmarked blogs.

    Like

  3. Ted says:

    It looks great here at McCarran airport in Las Vegas!

    Like

  4. Laura says:

    This is awesome, Mom! By the way, you can now get here from http://www.thequilterscove.com

    Like

  5. Kathy says:

    Dottie, I’m adding your blog to my favorites, great job!! Blogs are so entertaining and informational and I love staying in touch with all my family and friends this way!

    Like

  6. Linda says:

    I am certain that this blog was not started without a lot of prayer and thought from you beforehand, Dottie. I think that if you ever let all your talent out on one day, the world should look out! Thank you for including me.

    Like

  7. barbara frazee says:

    Dottie,
    I believe in the power of prayer. We’ve not connected lately. Catch up w/ me–

    Like

  8. Enid Silva says:

    Dear Dottie,
    What a wonderful tribute to Sister Ann! I read your piece and cried…thank you for sharing your thoughts and for the beautiful inspirational message. I feel blessed to have met you…keep up the wonderful work you do!
    Enid

    Like

  9. Auntie Therese says:

    Dear Dottie,
    My neighbor,Dennis and I have read your blog and found it to be both
    beautiful and very inspirational. Hope you add a lot more to it!
    Love, Auntie Therese

    Like

Leave a Reply

